COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP - UPDATE

Report By: Head of Legal and Democratic Services

Wards Affected

None.

Purpose

1. To note the Committee membership with particular reference to the Co-opted membership.

Background

- 2. The Council's constitution sets out that the Committee will consist of 11 Council Members. It also permits scrutiny committees to co-opt persons who are not members of the Council to assist them in their work. The Committee may also invite partners, services users, experts, etc, to attend to give information, usually for specific agenda items. At previous meetings of the Committee namely 3 October and 16 December 2005, the Committee considered and noted or agreed various terms of reference for the co-opted members. Consideration of any wider representation was deferred for the new Committee to consider following the May 2007 elections.
- 3. At its meeting on 25th June 2007 the Committee debated the scope of its remit and the various organisations that could assist in its work e.g. Foster Carers, Probation Service; Police; Primary Care Trust; Connexions; Youth Council and those from the education sector. The Committee confirmed the statutory co-opted member arrangements and also confirmed that one member be co-opted from The Alliance. In accordance with the resolution the Chairman and Vice-Chairman took note of the range of organisations suggested at the meeting and advised the Head of Legal and Democratic Services in relation to the appointment of non-voting co-opted representatives from other sectors. These are reflected in this report.

Current Statutory Membership

- 4. **Diocesan Members** it is a requirement that the Committee formally co-opt Diocesan representatives to serve on the Committee as full voting members. Where the remit of the Committee goes wider than matters of education, as in the case of this Committee, church and parent governor representatives are entitled to vote only on any matter relating to education, whether in respect of schools or wider educational issues. They may in addition speak on any other matters within the remit of the Committee.
- 5. Diocesan members are appointed by the respective diocese and there is no statutory term of office. However, in accordance with this Committee's resolution dated 3rd October 2005, following local elections the Head of Legal and Democratic Services writes to the diocese for confirmation of their nomination or re-nomination.
- 6. The current diocesan members are:

Church of England – Revd I Terry.

Roman Catholic Church – Mr J. D Griffin.

- 7. Parent Governor Members The School Standards and Framework Act 1998 and the Education (Parent Governor Representatives) Regulations 1999 require education authorities to have parent governor representatives as full members on Scrutiny Committees with voting rights. As in the case of Church representatives they are restricted to voting on educational matters only. They may in addition speak on any other matters within the remit of the Committee.
- 8. The Regulations with regard to Parent Governors set out that the term of office shall be "of such duration as the authority shall determine, being a period not less than two years nor greater than four years". Cabinet in Sept 1999 decided that "representatives take up their role from the start of the new Council in May 2000". It was agreed that "the term of office should be coincident with that of the Council, with any vacancy filled on the basis of completing the remaining period of office". The Council decided that 3 Parent Governor representatives be appointed.
- 9. The term of office for the current parent governors will expire in May 2011 unless they become ineligible. The following governors have been elected:

Primary School sector – Mr R I Stevenson

Secondary School sector - Mr N Parker.

Special School sector - Mr A Wood.

Non-voting Co-opted Representatives

- 10. Cabinet on 18 December 2003 considered the implications of the Local Government Act 2003 and decided not to confer voting rights on non-statutory co-opted members serving on any Council Committee.
- 11. The following is a list of the non-voting co-opted members on this Committee:
- 12. Headteacher representatives -

Primary School sector – Mr S Pugh, Hampton Dene Primary School, Hereford.

Secondary School sector – Mrs D Strutt, Whitecross High School & Specialist Sports College, Hereford.

Special School sector – Mr R. Aird, Barrs Court Special School, Hereford.

- 13. **Teacher representative** Mr C Lewandowski,
- 14. **Foster Care representative** There is currently a vacancy due to the resignation of Mrs H Tyler. A replacement is being sought via Foster Carers.
- 15. Voluntary and Community sector representative Ms D. Scott (The Alliance).
- 16. **Connexions Herefordshire and Worcestershire** Ms K Berry, Head of Service Delivery Herefordshire.

- 17. **Primary Care Trust** A request has been made to the Chief Executive for an appropriate nomination.
- 18. The Committees expectation is that all co-opted members will report back to their respective bodies or organisations.

An alternative to co-opting representatives

19. As reported earlier the Committee may also invite partners, service users, experts, etc, to attend to give information on specific issues. Based on the Committee work programme the Director, in consultation with the Chairman and Vice-Chairman, should be able to identify issues that may require wider expertise. In such instances the Director will arrange for an appropriate level of advice to be available to the Committee depending on the issue under debate. This may be in addition to relevant members of staff being in attendance.

RECOMMENDATION

THAT The Committee note the current membership of the Committee and action in relation to current vacancies.

BACKGROUND PAPERS

None identified.